Google+

December Creative Play Day 31: Chocolate Box 2011- A Year In Preview by Candace Jedrowicz

December Creative Play Day 31 2011 The Year in Preview by Candace Jedrowicz Hero 1009x1024 December Creative Play Day 31: Chocolate Box 2011  A Year In Preview by Candace Jedrowicz

The Cool2Craft Creative Play theme for December is “Give Yourself a Gift.” You give to everyone else during the holidays and all year long. Time to give yourself a treat! Make something, go somewhere, do something that’s just for you and photograph it! Then share it with us – post it on the Cool2Craft Creative Play blog on the Hive. Anything goes! I’m going to run with this theme and craft every day in December. I’ll be posting tutorials and videos as well as making some kits available at the Marketplace. Join me on Cool2Craft for 31 days of blissful, healing, creative play and give yourself the gift of play, too! [Candace J.]

I’m so in love with chocolate box art! I decided to do the last project of this amazing month of Creative Play as an affirmation of the sweetness of life for the coming year.

December Creative Play Day 31 2011 The Year in Preview by Candace Jedrowicz 1 300x209 December Creative Play Day 31: Chocolate Box 2011  A Year In Preview by Candace Jedrowicz I gathered papers and images that appealed to me and set about visualizing my “Sweetness of Life in 2011″ concept. I wrote affirmations and prayers on the inside of the top half of the box.

I sanded the outside of the chocolate box to prep for decoupage.  Then I made my assemblage decisions and went to town with my Aleene’s Quick Dry Tacky Glue.

December Creative Play Day 31 2011 The Year in Preview by Candace Jedrowicz 1b 300x178 December Creative Play Day 31: Chocolate Box 2011  A Year In Preview by Candace Jedrowicz Hands, hearts, bright colors, coffee cups, glitter, gems, sweets and chocolate are things you’ll find in most of my art.  They represent joy on a base a level.  That childlike joy for those magical things is ever present for me.  I don’t just love them, I allow them to work through me, through my heart and my hands.
December Creative Play Day 31 2011 The Year in Preview by Candace Jedrowicz 1a 300x271 December Creative Play Day 31: Chocolate Box 2011  A Year In Preview by Candace Jedrowicz When I started to think about what the chocolates would say about the theme, I decided to do individually constructed centers.  I would normally use chocolate shaped hump molds to make hollow pieces.
December Creative Play Day 31 2011 The Year in Preview by Candace Jedrowicz 2 300x292 December Creative Play Day 31: Chocolate Box 2011  A Year In Preview by Candace Jedrowicz A small amount of polymer clay can cover this type of center and be smoothed successfully.  The bonus is that you don’t have to try to take the polymer clay off!

I ended up gold leafing the heart.  I felt it brought balance to the piece.

December Creative Play Day 31 2011 The Year in Preview by Candace Jedrowicz 3 300x189 December Creative Play Day 31: Chocolate Box 2011  A Year In Preview by Candace Jedrowicz For more detailed pieces, you can use a wire frame to wrap the foil around
December Creative Play Day 31 2011 The Year in Preview by Candace Jedrowicz 4 300x189 December Creative Play Day 31: Chocolate Box 2011  A Year In Preview by Candace Jedrowicz The wire allows you to reposition the piece without losing integrity.  Notice that I didn’t try to wire the thumb.  It was small enough to add when the rest of the hand was shaped and positioned.
December Creative Play Day 31 2011 The Year in Preview by Candace Jedrowicz 5 300x260 December Creative Play Day 31: Chocolate Box 2011  A Year In Preview by Candace Jedrowicz It’s important to make and place your main pieces so you’ll know how many filler pieces you’ll need.  I only needed three filler bits, and even those are symbolic in this piece as a whole.
December Creative Play Day 31 2011 The Year in Preview by Candace Jedrowicz 6 300x271 December Creative Play Day 31: Chocolate Box 2011  A Year In Preview by Candace Jedrowicz Several of the symbols called for gold leaf.  They represent celebration, prosperity, adventure and the secondary theme – “We will write our own story.”
December Creative Play Day 31 2011 The Year in Preview by Candace Jedrowicz Hero 295x300 December Creative Play Day 31: Chocolate Box 2011  A Year In Preview by Candace Jedrowicz What are your hopes and expectations for the coming year?

Mine are delicious!

Speak Your Mind

*